Closing Session of LOPEC 2023 Offers Insights Into Opportunities

By David Savastano, Editor | 03.01.23

Today’s speakers will highlight a range of applications, including wearables, smart systems, printed electronics and printed sensors.

The closing session of LOPEC 2023, organized by the OE-A, will be held at Messe Munich, with a host of presentations as well as a busy exhibit hall. New technologies will be the highlight during the technical conference, as speakers will focus on a range of topics, from functional materials, upscaling manufacturing, user interfaces, wearable electronics, substrates and encapsulation, and smart and hybrid systems. Meanwhile, the scientific sessions will look at printed electronics, printed smart sensors, circuit design and innovative processes and materials.

The March 2 Plenary Session will include:
• LOPEC general chair Wolfgang Mildner, founder and CEO of MSW.
• Dr. Yeo-Geon Yoon, Samsung Display Co. – "Inkjet-printing Technologies for Display"
• Dr. Katariina Penttilä, Avery Dennison Smartrac – "Innovation Drivers for Sustainable Digital Triggers"
• Dr. Ton van Mol, TNO/Holst Centre and PITC – "Flexible electronics for human-centric health care"
• Rainer Hald, VARTA AG – "Printing batteries to power innovation"

The March 2 Technical Conference features six sessions on two concurrent tracks.

Prof. Dr. Jeroen van den Brand, department head, Holst Centre - TNO, will chair the Smart and Hybrid Systems session of the Technical Conference. The speakers will be Peter Bancken, scientist light sources and materials, Signify; Dr. Antoine Latour, research engineer, CEA; and Austin Peters, embedded systems engineer II, Brewer Science Inc.

Karlheinz Bock, professor für Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnik TU Dresden, Institutsleiter IAVT | TU Dresden, will lead the Upscaling Production and Manufacturing Processes session, with talks by Ynvisible GM Jani-Mikael Kuusisto; Prof. Argiris Laskarakis, head of Organic Electronics Group, Nanotechnology Lab LTFN, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki; Dr. Jacob Thomas, spectroelectrochemical manager, redoxme AB; Antti Takaluoma, development director, Offcode Oy; and Valentijn von Morgen, business development manager, DuPont Teijin Films.

The User Interfaces session will be led by Dr. Pälvi Apilo, director, foresight & research at TactoTek. This session will feature talks by Dirk Pophusen, global segment manager specialty films, Covestro; Dr. Paulo Pedrosa, CTO of functional and sensitive materials, DTx - Digital Transformation Colab; Kasper Vestentoft, senior specialist, Danish Technological Institute; and Daniela Campanhã, researcher, CeNTI - Centre of Nanotechnology and Smart Materials.

Wearable Electronics will be led by Dr. Juha Virtanen, principal engineer, GE Healthcare. It will feature talks by Prof. Dr. David Duncker, head of Hannover Heart Rhythm Center, Department of Cardiology and Angiology, Hannover Medical School; Dr. Mika-Matti Laurila, postdoctoral research fellow, Tampere University; John Yundt, VP sales and business development, SunRay Scientific, Inc.; and Dr. Marc Alique, advanced researcher, Fundació Eurecat.

Substrates and Encapsulation will be chaired by Dr. Armin Wedel, division director, Fraunhofer IAP, with talks by Dr. Gael Depres, R&D director, Arjowiggins, and Wiebke Langgemach, project leader, Fraunhofer Institute for Organic Electronics, Electron Beam and Plasma Technology.

Stijn Gillissen, global head printed electronics for Henkel, will moderate the Functional Materials session, which will feature talks by Ofer Shochet, CEO and co-founder, Copprint; Dr. Loreleï Douard, research engineer, Grenoble INP; Dr. Natalia Zamoshchik, COO and co-founder, OrelTech GmbH; and Dr. Mayumi Noto, global business development manager future mobility, Oerlikon Balzers.

The Scientific Conference will feature six sessions.

Prof. Fabrizio Torricelli of University of Brescia will lead the Innovative Processes & Materials session, which will include talks by Dr. Barbara Stadlober, head of research group, Joanneum Research Forschungsgesellschaft mbH; Dr. Ines Dani, head of department, Fraunhofer IWU; Dr. Ngoc Duc Trinh, R&D director and technical services, ICI - Printability and Graphic Communications Institute; and Dr. Xiangyang Liu, research council officer, National Research Council Canada.

Printed Smart Sensors I will be moderated by Prof. Paul Blom, director, Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research. Talks will be given by Prof. Ronald Österbacka of Åbo Akademi University; Dr. Tutku Beduk Ashirova, scientist, Silicon Austria Labs (SAL); Dr. Marco Fritsch, research fellow, Fraunhofer IKTS Institute; and Dr. Kalyan Y. Mitra, scientific researcher & project coordinator, Fraunhofer ENAS.

The session Printed Electronics I will be chaired by Prof. Ronald Österbacka of Åbo Akademi University.
Lectures will be given by Dr. Filip Granek of XTPL SA; Paria Naderi, PhD candidate, York University; Matthew Docherty, masters student of chemical engineering, University of Edinburgh; and Jonas Jäger, research assistant, Hahn-Schickard.

Printed Smart Sensors II will be hosted by Prof. Dr. Jörg Franke of Friedrich-Alexander Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg. This session will have talks by Lars Rikken of Holst Centre TNO; Johanna Zikulnig, scientist, Silicon Austria Labs GmbH; Dr. Mykola Vinnichenko, group manager, Fraunhofer IKTS; and Dr. David Taggart, principal investigator, Brewer Science.

Printed Electronics II will be chaired by Dr. Barbara Stadlober, head of research group, Joanneum Research Forschungsgesellschaft mbH. Talks will be given by Alexander Blümel, senior scientist, Joanneum Research Forschungsgesellschaft mbH; Dr. Sherjeel Khan, scientist, Silicon Austria Labs GmbH; andDr. Martin Ungerer, research fellow, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT).

Circuit Design, Simulations and Systems will be led by Dr. Chloé Bois, GM - NSERC industrial research chair for colleges in functional printed applications Ma, ICI - Printability and Graphic Communications Institute; and will have presentations by Matías Joglar, researcher, Fundació Eurecat; Dr. Nikola Perinka, research fellow, BCMaterials; and Simone Pecora, R&D engineer, Simbeyond B.V.